The City Of Plymouth Amateur Swimming Association was founded in May 1912 as the 'Three Towns District Amateur Swimming Association'. The name later changed to the 'Plymouth and District A.S.A & Water Polo League'. In 1972 permission was granted by the Town Clerk for the name to be changed to the 'City Of Plymouth Amateur Swimming Association'.


When first founded the Three Towns District A.S.A. was only for Water Polo and after a couple of years they also formed a 'Schools Water Polo League'. As time went on all the other water sports;- Swimming, Synchronised Swimming, Diving and Open Water Swimming were introduced.


The Association is now composed of eight affiliated Swimming Clubs/Associations, all being within the City or within an eighteen mile radius of the City boundary; all Clubs must be members of the Devon County A.S.A. Caradon SC added to the list in 2015.

The present members are:-

Caradon Swimming Club (incorporated to COP ASA in May 2015)

Devonport Royal Swimming Association,

Plymouth Leander Swimming Association,

Plymouth Royal Navy/Royal Marines Swimming Club,

Dinnaton Swimming Club,

Tavistock Swimming Club,

Mount Kelly Swim Squad,

Kingsbridge Kingfishers Swimming Club.



The Swimming Galas are held under A.S.A. Laws and Technical Rules and the Age Group Events conform with the A.S.A. British Age Group Category (BAGCATS) Award scheme - we pride ourselves on having been the first one in the South West Region to implement the BAGCATS scheme (2000).


The aim of the galas is to alllow swimmers to compete against swimmers from other clubs, probably for their first time, and to obtain qualifying times for the Devon County Championships and Age Group Events.


The Association also runs an Open Water Breakwater Swim and an annual Lamb Trophy Senior Water Polo Tournament.

Our Chairman is elected in rotation from the affiliated clubs and holds office for one year.